Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Need a better understanding of the 951

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2004, 01:17 AM
944Willie
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need a better understanding of the 951

What is the best method of understanding the working 951? I am new to Porsches and turbos. I"m in the local PCA chapter and attend the events. I have a Haynes manual which I am reading. I have also read my owners manual. I have been reading all the posts and know I am just a novice. I would like to understand how this wonderful machine works. I had my engine rebuilt as soon as I got it because I knew enough to know it was over my head and I wanted to drive it sooner. It runs great, most every thing works great, (The Cruise control accelrates the car but will not hold any speed.) I know SEARCH is my friend. Is the shop manual series a must have? Where is the best place to get a set. I have been watching EBAY. Is it the best way to learn, I understand hands on repair is the best but I don't have anything to fix( at the moment). I also don't know anybody around this area that is a real gearhead. I am willing to do the homework and want to know how a DME/MAF/ MAP/ system works and how a torsion bar works. I am getting all the seat time (DE, autoX) I can get to better control the car, but I want to understand the mechanical side also. Sorry for being long winded but I got the Porsche bug and want to do more on my car. I also like the cost savings and pride of doing it myself.
Old 01-27-2004, 01:22 AM
Matthew West
Instructor

Keep reading.
1. Subscribe to Excellence and European car.
2. Order back issues of Excellence.
3. Read the tech articles at Clarks garage, Paragon, and Pelican.
4. Get Carky Bell's book maximum boost and the Bently motronic book.
Old 01-27-2004, 01:22 AM
dime1622
I never notice, anyway
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post