Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Rogue Tuning still around?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2018, 11:58 AM
bw993
Rennlist Member

Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts

I've been using the M-Tune on my track 951 with E85 for the last 7-8 years, so I guess I have a early Rogue setup. This is the third MAF system that I have used, so I have some experience with products from other vendors as a base of reference. Over the course that time, I have probably close to a thousand hours of track time with the M-Tune, and I am comfortable in saying that the early M-Tune is a reliable system. In the time that I have had the M-Tune, I have probably seen, and resolved most of the common issues seen with the M-Tune MAF system, such as rich at WOT, high idle, surging idle, on boost and off boost stumbles, . To me, the benefits of a true MAF system like the M-Tune that allowed changes to the intake, turbos swaps, different max. boost settings and use of E85 or race fuel, without re-tuning far outweigh any of the negatives with the system. And having used other MAF systems in the past, the causes of the M-Tune issues would also impact most other MAF systems based on my experience.

Here are the key things that I have experienced with my early M-Tune MAF:

Running rich @ WOT
1. Pressure leak after the MAF sensor due to either leaks in vacuum lines, BOV or M-Tune plastic MAF tube (on my third tube)
2. 3 BAR FPR should be at 43 - 44.5 PSI, but is regulating at higher ~47-48.5 PSI. This is a common problem based on my testing of eight different Bosch parts.
3, Check DME temperature sensor

Surging idle
1, Vacuum leaks. Check usual suspects.

High idle
1. Reset idle or you have an early software version with the high idle preset by Rogue (1100 rpm). I think this was addressed in a later release.

Boost stumbles
1. Vacuum/pressure leak. Check usual suspects.