Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

HVAC controller woes!!

 
Old 05-13-2011, 08:25 PM
  #1  
jwillman
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
jwillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,842
Default HVAC controller woes!!

The AC system is back in and held a vacuum but now I have HVAC controller issues.

Prevoiusly the fan had operated intermittantly, sometime would work in defrost and sometimes, only on high. I pulled the controller and found a bad trace on the bottom side but could not determine what ir did. I replaced broken slider ***** and reinstalled but no I get no fan at all. When I jump the blower relay pins 30 and 87 the blower works and I am able to vary speed using the fan ****. I tried two other relays and same result with relay installed.

I found the small switch at the back broken, likely happened when I reattached. Looks like it controlls the compressor clutch.

So any ideas? Is it the HVAC controller? Anyone have a controller for sale?

Damit, almost had AC
jwillman is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 08:27 PM
  #2  
jwillman
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
jwillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,842
Default

adding pics
Attached Images   
jwillman is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 08:35 PM
  #3  
blown 87
Rest in Peace
Rennlist Member
 
blown 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bird lover in Sharpsburg
Posts: 9,903
Default

Greg Brown does a great job on HVAC controllers.
Send him a PM .

He did mine and I m very happy with it.
blown 87 is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 08:41 PM
  #4  
the flyin' scotsman
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
the flyin' scotsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,615
Default

Does GB rebuild them Greg?

If so, does the blue relay get replaced? what else?
the flyin' scotsman is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 08:51 PM
  #5  
blown 87
Rest in Peace
Rennlist Member
 
blown 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bird lover in Sharpsburg
Posts: 9,903
Default

Originally Posted by the flyin' scotsman View Post
Does GB rebuild them Greg?

If so, does the blue relay get replaced? what else?
Yes, the relay does get replaced, and there are other things he does I am sure, but can not say what they are.

He does rebuild them and has a full test setup to test every one, it is a 928 cooling system with out the car from what I understand.

Again, send him a PM and ask him.

I like them enough I am going to stock one.
blown 87 is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:03 PM
  #6  
the flyin' scotsman
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
the flyin' scotsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,615
Default

xcellent Greg.....I'll contact GB directly if I can find his business contact info.
the flyin' scotsman is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:07 PM
  #7  
ROG100
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
ROG100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Double Oak, TX
Posts: 15,609
Default

On the early HVAC heads there is not much to rebuild and I am not sure Greg rebuilds the vacuum controlled ones. The switch is a simple type and should be easy to replace. Very different to the later heads.
__________________


Does it have the "Do It Yourself" manual transmission, or the superior "Fully Equipped by Porsche" Automatic Transmission? George Layton March 2014

928 Owners are ".....a secret sect of quietly assured Porsche pragmatists who in near anonymity appreciate the prodigious, easy going prowess of the 928."
ROG100 is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:12 PM
  #8  
jwillman
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
jwillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,842
Default

I seem to have multple issues with mine. The switch seems to seems to be on off based on teh cam for the lower slider. Seems on when in the AC and Defroster position.

The other issue is the trace on the bottom side and the new issue with the fan only running when jumped.
jwillman is offline  
Old 05-20-2011, 08:53 PM
  #9  
jwillman
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
jwillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,842
Default

Well I have it fixed - I think

I decided to try some silver conductive paint to repair the trace. Found a pen applicator and filled in the missing area. Once dry it is very hard and I now have comtinuity on that wire and along the trace.

I found a like fit switch to replace the broken compressor switch. The old one was pinned to the controller body so I drilled those out and used bolt and nut arrangement to reattach.

Once reconnected I have control of the fan thru the switch and I get voltage at the freeze switch when in the AC and defrost positions.

Vacuum system still is not right and I seem to have heat all the time which tells me the vaccuum is either not closing the heater valve or it is ***** up.

One question I have is the owners manual states the fan is always on low with the ignition on. Should it only be on low until I move from the off position or will the fan speed be dependant on blower speed **** position?

Right now the blower comes on at the speed set by the switch as soon as I turn on the ignition with the mode selector set to off. I can adjust the blower speed thru all positions with the mode selector in the off position. Is this normal?
Attached Images      
jwillman is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 12:10 AM
  #10  
Rob Edwards
Archive Gatekeeper
Rennlist Member
 
Rob Edwards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 13,596
Default

He does rebuild them and has a full test setup to test every one, it is a 928 cooling system with out the car from what I understand.
Yeah, he's got two high-school science fair HVAC head testing rigs, that completely replicate both the early and late systems, different combinations of bulbs light up to indicate each of the slider positions.

Here's the 'later' one, while testing the head unit from my GT:

Rob Edwards is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 01:30 AM
  #11  
Alan
Electron Wrangler
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 11,925
Default

Only the fan speed switch on the head unit controls the fan operation sped - except that the HVAC head unit needs to be plugged into the harness to activate the blower relay.

Alan
Alan is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: