Porken's 85 chips- Awesome! - Page 4 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Porken's 85 chips- Awesome!

 
Old 12-10-2009, 10:54 AM
  #46  
davek9
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
davek9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 4,492
Default

Ken I just picked up a used '87 FPR from 928 Intl (half off sale !

Now I am just wondering how much timing to remove with the Nitrous 150 hp shot I am running B4 I order a set from you, currently I am pulling out three degrees w/the low Octane loop.

She is extremely quick now…, but like Andrew said: “HP is a very addictive!” and I want more !!!

Last edited by davek9; 12-10-2009 at 12:32 PM.
davek9 is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 12:58 PM
  #47  
PorKen
Inventor
Rennlist Member

 
PorKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9,386
Default

Dave - good plan. The /55 fuels more consistently at WOT.

The EZF octane loop will put you into the v2.0 'superhot' column (~135F/57C) which has more retard than the stock octane loop, depending on load (vacuum level), but I can set it to whatever you want.

I am going to program the LH loop to also switch the cruise warmup map to a richer one. For nitrous (or whatever), I could make it much richer, if you wanted. (Stock, the LH octane loop only switches the scaling map of the O2 sensor loop to a slightly different scale. I assume to a slightly richer bias.)
PorKen is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 01:36 PM
  #48  
BC
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,467
Default

How do you get a list of all the bosch FPRs that are on german cars? I have one from the 928 that I was thinking of putting on the BMW if it raises the pressure.
BC is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 01:47 PM
  #49  
Mike Frye
Craic Head
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Mike Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jersey Shore, USA
Posts: 8,795
Default

Originally Posted by PorKen View Post
Dave - good plan. The /55 fuels more consistently at WOT.

The EZF octane loop will put you into the v2.0 'superhot' column (~135F/57C) which has more retard than the stock octane loop, depending on load (vacuum level), but I can set it to whatever you want.

I am going to program the LH loop to also switch the cruise warmup map to a richer one. For nitrous (or whatever), I could make it much richer, if you wanted. (Stock, the LH octane loop only switches the scaling map of the O2 sensor loop to a slightly different scale. I assume to a slightly richer bias.)
So Ken, if I had a WBO2 or some other trigger I could then wire it into the LH loop to choose a richer map if it was running lean or possibly if I had a knock sensor or something? Would it dial back timing also or just change to a different (richer) fuel map?
Mike Frye is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 02:01 PM
  #50  
PorKen
Inventor
Rennlist Member

 
PorKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9,386
Default

If you had a knock sensor, with a little circuitry you could have a two stage knock control. Retard the timing, then richen the mixture if it still knocks. I think this is what the 951 KLR box does.



For those just tuning it...there are octane loop plugs on both the EZF and LH harness connectors. One or both may still be factory taped to the harness. You plug them together when using poor quality gas. Stock, only the EZF loop does anything. It grounds the air temp sensor input, which appears to the EZF as if the air temp was very high, which results in a 3° retard. The LH loop is wired directly to an input of the 8048 processor, but doesn't do anything noticeable.
PorKen is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 05:20 PM
  #51  
anonymousagain
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
anonymousagain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NorCal - Bay Area
Posts: 861
Default

Ken - you stated "Stock, only the EZF loop does anything".

Does this imply, since your chips are not stock, both EZF and LH <now> do something? Or simply that stock wiring is only setup to address the EZF...regardless of chip?
anonymousagain is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 08:09 PM
  #52  
goodspeed928
User
 
goodspeed928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waterford, Ct
Posts: 1,417
Default

Make me some 90 s4 chips
goodspeed928 is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 09:15 PM
  #53  
PorKen
Inventor
Rennlist Member

 
PorKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9,386
Default

Originally Posted by anonymousagain View Post
Ken - you stated "Stock, only the EZF loop does anything".

Does this imply, since your chips are not stock, both EZF and LH <now> do something? Or simply that stock wiring is only setup to address the EZF...regardless of chip?
At the moment with my chips, only the EZF octane loop does something. (With v2.0 of the EZF chip, the OL retard is gradual according to load.)

Both the EZF and LH octane loop plugs are wired. The EZF OL just shorts the air temp sensor to ground (= no resistance = high temp). The LH loop is a proper input, and has it's own terminal, pin 19. It is referenced in the code, but all it does is change the location of a map used for the oxygen sensor loop. The OL map is very similar to the regular map, so in effect it doesn't do anything.

I'm working on making the LH OL do a little more, but I have to find room for the new code and map, which means having to rearrange the old hex code to fit.
PorKen is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 05:03 AM
  #54  
Darklands
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Darklands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Near Hamburg-Germany
Posts: 574
Default

Ok,Iīm back from the dyno!

*tease*

*tease*

My car is a 86.5 ROW 5 speed with LSD and Kenīs newest chips.I use a motorsport x plus racecats and an RMB.

Max. HP was 327 at 5500 rpm

Thatīs 39 HP over stock.

Exellent work Ken. :-)

Last edited by Darklands; 12-11-2009 at 08:34 AM.
Darklands is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 07:51 AM
  #55  
Darklands
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Darklands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Near Hamburg-Germany
Posts: 574
Default

Here the graph.
Attached Images  
Darklands is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 08:43 AM
  #56  
Mike Frye
Craic Head
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Mike Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jersey Shore, USA
Posts: 8,795
Default

Originally Posted by Darklands View Post
Ok,Iīm back from the dyno!

*tease*

*tease*

My car is a 86.5 ROW 5 speed with LSD and Kenīs newest chips.I use a motorsport x plus racecats and an RMB.

Max. HP was 327 at 5500 rpm

Thatīs 39 HP over stock.

Exellent work Ken. :-)
That's got to be the most HP anyone's ever gotten out of an N/A S3. VERY COOL!


Correct me if I'm wrong, but 327hp at the wheel is a hell of a lot more than 39hp over stock. I think the stock numbers I've seen were 288-292 at the crank.

What does 327rwhp translate to at the crank?
Mike Frye is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 08:49 AM
  #57  
Darklands
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Darklands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Near Hamburg-Germany
Posts: 574
Default

Hi Mike,

itīs at the flywheel/crank calculated! (DIN HP)

~ -20 HP (6.5-7 %) and you have HP at the wheels.

But again,I think a very good running engine.

Last edited by Darklands; 12-11-2009 at 10:13 AM.
Darklands is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 08:56 AM
  #58  
Mike Frye
Craic Head
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Mike Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jersey Shore, USA
Posts: 8,795
Default

OK, gotcha. Sorry I'm not familiar with that graph. I usually see something with the peak rwhp and rwtq somewhere on it. (in English ).

Are you sure about that -20hp number also? I thought it was a percentage. So what were you putting down to the wheels, did it say?

Anyway, that's really cool and I know the torque is as much (or more) fun as the increased HP.
Mike Frye is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:03 AM
  #59  
Darklands
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Darklands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Near Hamburg-Germany
Posts: 574
Default

I think we have 307 HP at the wheels.

Maybe the cold weather (5-6 ° Celsius) make a lot of power.

I donīt know if the hole between 2500-4000 rpm in the torquechart is right,maybe slip'?

Itīs my first visit in a dynoroom.

Ken or other specialists can maybe say more.
Darklands is offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:33 AM
  #60  
Mike Frye
Craic Head
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Mike Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jersey Shore, USA
Posts: 8,795
Default

Originally Posted by Darklands View Post
I think we have 307 HP at the wheels.

Maybe the cold weather (5-6 ° Celsius) make a lot of power.

I donīt know if the hole between 2500-4000 rpm in the torquechart is right,maybe slip'?

Itīs my first visit in a dynoroom.

Ken or other specialists can maybe say more.
That sounds right. I dyno-ed at 291 at the wheels last summer with the AA chips and crossovers. I don't think the AA chips raise the peak hp though. So I'm hoping to crack 300 at the wheels when I go back with the new chip/FPR setup and I'm still using the stock cat-back setup.

I think they told me with 291 at the wheels I was close to 340 at the crank so you must be even higher than that.

That dip does seem odd. Did you log AFR? I'd be curious what was going on with that as well.

Very cool though!
Mike Frye is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Porken's 85 chips- Awesome!


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: