Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ring and pinion gear pattern

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2016, 01:38 AM
redline7921
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ring and pinion gear pattern

Hello everyone. I have posted a few photos of a gear pattern I ended up with. I am not an expert and am looking for some one who can provide feedback on what needs adjustment to get the correct pattern. I have some ideas, but I prefer to see what you all say so my ideas don't skew yours.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Images     
Old 09-11-2016, 12:07 PM
Noahs944
Race Car

Received 229 Likes on 168 Posts

You are pretty close.
This top photo you took doesn't matter because the concave side is the non-driven side.

This convex side matters as it driven from the pinion. Pretty close to perfect. The thing to remember is gears want to blow apart. So you might want to error on the side of gear contact slightly tighter than centre. I have limited diff experience but I'd start with slightly more pinion depth and then re-check.

What type of paint is that?
I ask because we seem to have consistent pattern (lower on this photo appear perfect but upper less than perfect -like the pinion is high), was everything bolted tightly? In a pinch I've used Engine assembly lube. It doesn't dry & crack like that yellow paint is.
Old 09-11-2016, 01:47 PM
Noahs944
Race Car

Have you watched this video? Seems like a gooder, mate!
Best of luck to you.
Old 09-11-2016, 03:09 PM
redline7921
Advanced

I used the Mopar iron oxide gear marking compound. I have tried Prussian blue but you can't see the pattern well, so the yellow stuff works a lot better.

I think there was some gear oil remaining on the drive side causing the pattern to be inconsistent in some spots.. I may do it again. Everything was torqued to spec, the hard part is loading the gears.