Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Finally Figured out the shifting problem!

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2003, 10:17 PM
Adam Roberts
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Finally Figured out the shifting problem!

A little more than a month ago I posted about when at a stoplight, something happened and I couldn't shift into 1st, didn't want to shift gears, gears ground ,etc.

https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...threadid=83745

I'm not a mechanic, but I didn't have the money to take it to a shop, and I wanted to know the insides of my car, so I decided to do the work myself in my spare time.

Took over a month, because I only could give a few hours a week to the job and I was working by myself, in addition to never worked on a car before.... but anyway, I found the culprit..

the rubber center on the clutch failed.....

looks like it blew out.. and little bits of rubber were chewed up, pressing against the flywheel, making shifting hard.... it was a mess in the clutch bellhousing..

I bought one of those Sachs replacement clutches......I'll bolt that in tomorrow and start to get the thing back together..I miss driving my porsche

thanks everybody for your suggestions...
Old 09-24-2003, 10:48 PM
Cass944
Drifting

hey! I have one of those!

It was funny how i could hold the disk part of the clutch then put my thumb in the hole in the middle and turn it without my other hand moving at all, like they werent even connected. Its crazy how for so long all the power from the engine went through that rubber and now i can just turn it with my hand... anyway i got a sachs too. i doublt I'll have to replace a clutch again as long as i have the car.
Old 09-25-2003, 01:47 PM
Adam Roberts
Instructor

Whoa.. mine just blew a chunk out.. yours went to pieces.....

Did it turn your flywheel a nice rubbery black color?