Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Before I try my fqs switch

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2014, 10:15 AM
ZR8ED
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Before I try my fqs switch

I'm now chasing a slight miss/popping from the exhaust, and idle that is irregularly hunting by about 50-100rpm.

86 n/a with a Rogue n/a tune.
I've been running the n/a tune for a couple of months now with no issues, and it was running quite well with lots of power.

Fast forward to our recent cold weather spell. My tps fails, and while troubleshooting, I find that #1 exhaust is running 200 degree hotter than the rest. When listening to the injectors 3 made a nice "tic tic tic" sound with cyl #1 injector making a bit of a "thunk thunk thunk" sound. We find the fuel filter clogged up and dirty, so after changing the filter/screen front and back, I send the injectors out to be cleaned. All is well except now when I set the idle, I can here a bit too much "burbbling" from the exhaust, and the idle is now iregularly hunting about 50-100rpm.

In the last week I have:
Replaced the plugs, wires, cap rotor, fuel filter, speed/reference sensors, tps all with bosch equipment. I even swapped back to a stock dme and afm. (before the I discovered the injector issues) no change.
Can't find any vacuum leaks.
BUTTTT I did notice that when at WOT getting on an onramp, I can smell that rotten egg smell from the cat (cat is 1 yr old)

What do you think the odds are that the car is now running a bit rich now that the injectors are cleaned and maybe flowing more fuel than before? The smelly exhaust is making me think this. I'm now considering pulling the dme and try to dial out some fuel.
Suggestions? The car is my daily driver 1000km/week and I am working on it as well as a local Porsche mechanic, but he is not familiar with the maf kit at all.