Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

intercooler heat...

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2001, 02:00 PM
keith
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Post intercooler heat...

Just took a 5 min drive after adjusting clutch free play, and then took a look under the hood (neurotic as I am) and noticed as I was leaning over, supporting myself with my hand over the nose panel above the Intercooler inlet, that the sheetmetal was roasting my skin. Wow. How have I not noticed this before?

As you have guessed by now, this is another of those "is this normal?" questions...

?
Old 06-06-2001, 05:49 PM
OZ951
Three Wheelin'

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Can't say I have noticed the nose panel being overly hot. I'll check next time and let you know.

Wayne
Old 06-06-2001, 05:52 PM
White951
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am by no means an expert. I have a 951 also. From what I have learned through another site called www.autospeed.com is that the intercooler acts as a heat sink. It collects much of the heat from the boosted air charge and transfers it to the atmosphere, much like a radiator. The heat you may be feeling is the heat still in the intercooler that is tranfering to the air while the car is not moving. I have never felt there to see how hot it gets. I will try it on the way home tonight.

John
Old 06-06-2001, 09:46 PM
Dave951M
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Keith- Glad to hear you're back on the road. Heat from the intercooler is normal. From Boyle's Law, as the pressure increases and the volume remains the same, temp will increase as well. TurboTim may have deeper insight on intercooler temps. I wonder what temp yours is at. Can you get a reading off of it somehow?

Dave951M
Old 06-06-2001, 09:53 PM
jim968
Three Wheelin'