Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car won't start!

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2013, 05:02 PM
Kenn311
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car won't start!

Okay well I have had this 1984 944 for about 2 months so I am still learning. All the sudden car wouldn't start so had it towed, got it home, and it started! Thought maybe fuel gauge was off so quickly went to get gas and although I don't normally use it ever I put dry gas in it and a fuel injector cleaner when I got home. Car started the next day so ran it for 30 min, it ran good, and then parked it. A few hours later it wouldn't start again. I changed the fuel filter and I also have a rigged pump relay so tried that. I can hear the pump motor for sure whether that means it's working correctly I don't know. Okay so that was long but question being, what's wrong?! Any ideas on what to check next?? I also checked the distributor cap and did a little sanding to clean but it didn't look too bad. I am about to replace my spark plugs but I don't think that's it. I really have no idea honestly though. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
Old 08-08-2013, 05:12 PM
Legoland951
Race Car

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Check for spark for intermittent no start. If there is no spark, most likely your either your reference or crank angle sensors is bad.
Old 08-08-2013, 05:15 PM
Yummybud924
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

you can also get fuel injector test kits that are pretty cheap and plug into your fuel injector harness and the led lights up when you crank the engine if they are working,

also check the obvious, make sure the cap is on properly, the wires are in the correct order and the afm connection is plugged in.
Old 08-08-2013, 05:17 PM
odonnell
Rennlist Member

Received 66 Likes on 48 Posts