Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Drivers Ed: How to drive a stick shift?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2002 | 11:44 PM
Operator
Three Wheelin'

Post Drivers Ed: How to drive a stick shift?

Ok, I will admit, my 944 is my first manual transmission car. Now, I do know how to drive it and all, but, I am no expert by any means.

What I want to know is how you all actually drive stick shift, there are many methods (ie clutch always pressed, heal and toe, etc etc). Oh and not to sound even more stupid than I already do (impossible) but what exactly is double clutching, heal and toe, etc?

So in summary:
1. How does everyone drive their manual?
2. What are all those fun fancy techniques?
3. What is the best way to prolong the life of a clutch?

Fun fun!
Old 01-14-2002 | 11:46 PM
Luke
Nordschleife Master

you the clutch as "little" as possible and as "smoothly" as possible. YOu can't go wrong.
Old 01-15-2002 | 12:49 AM
Renntag
Pro

Hey man, luke is basically right...the less you use it and smoothly when you do, will prolong clutch life.

Don't do hard aggressive clutch dump launches, don't ride/slip the clutch hard either. If you are smart about it you will learn. Just the fact that you are asking is good. Your car isnt a drag car, so dont abuse the clutch like it is one.

Double clutch basically, you use the clutch to disengage a gear, shift into neutral, let the clutch out, then press the clutch pedal again to engage the next gear. Mostly necessary when driving a truck or a vehicle with bad synchros.

My style? I heal/ toe all the time. I late brake as often as I can so I can further improve technique for the track.
In the 951 I use my heal on the brake and my toe to 'blip' the throttle. The key is to be able to snap the 'R's up while braking w/o pulsating the brakes. ie: braking smoothly.