Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944 AFM Problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2001, 01:23 AM
diacis
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 944 AFM Problems

Hello,

I am new to 944s and porsche in general. I recently bought a used '87 944NA that had been stored for 3 years. It has the factory alarm option, but the alarm "brain" is removed and the green wire to the factory radio is capped off. I first test drove the car and it was great. When I bought it I filled it with premium gas. Then took it home, a few days later it would no longer start. I have replaced the DME, checked all fuses and wire connections that I can think of, replaced the fuel pump, and have also replaced all filters, and full tune up. But the problem persists. When I try to start the car it kicks over as though its going to run, but dies a few seconds after I release the key from the start position. The only thing that I have done that works so far is to unplug the Mass Airflow Meter. The car will then idle around 1300 rpm but will not accelerate beyond 1600 rpm. Should I replace the Mass Air Meter or is this an indication of an additional problem. The first time it died and would not start I was going 35 mph. I have also checked the DME to see if it was wet, and it is not, there are no holes in the battery tray. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have been reading over the lists and trying to figure this out for about 3 weeks.

Thanks,
Chris
Old 08-14-2001, 02:42 AM
Skip
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Have you replaced the DME relay (fuel pump relay)?

Skip
Old 08-14-2001, 04:22 PM
diacis
6th Gear

The first message should have stated that I replaced the DME relay, not that I have replaced the DME.... ooops
Old 08-18-2001, 02:52 AM
diacis
6th Gear