Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Safe driving pointers

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2001 | 07:50 PM
trebor_quitman
Burning Brakes

Question Safe driving pointers

Hello all,

I have been driving for a few years now. A Ranger, a VW, and yes, even a 76 pacer. But not till the past 9 months have I driven a performance car, my 944. I was just going through the older posts when I reread the one about the fatality. Can any of you guys/gals offer some pointers on driving safety, The best way to recover from a slide, spin etc... Obviousley Text is not the best way to learn these things, but I'd like to have a couple of things to think about. I have been wanting to take some classes, any suggestions in the Pheonix AZ area? I would still like some pointers from some of you porsche veterans, especially stuff that applies specifically to our cars. Thanks a bunch, Roberto

God bless
Old 07-10-2001 | 10:43 PM
IPC
Instructor

It will be very hard for anyone to teach driving without being in the car. The thing I would most worry about would be the other driver, always know what is around you. Watch your surroundings. Don't watch the front of the car, look ahead -look ahead- look ahead.When you steer, brake, change gear, accelerate or move the car in anyway remember SMOOTH don't jerk anything be SMOOTH. Get into a driver's ED. Find out about your instructor. Make sure you both have the same goal. One more thing, obey the traffic laws and keep the fast driving on the track. Make sure the people riding with you can help you instead of distracting you. Be safe and good luck.
Old 07-10-2001 | 11:45 PM
Skwerl
Rennlist Member

Is this a tip: Don't brake while turning on wet pavement? The one time I spun out (180) I did that...now I always make sure to have some power to the wheels while turning. Is that the right way to do it?