Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How much time do you spend working on your 944?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 07:31 PM
odonnell
Rennlist Member

Received 65 Likes on 47 Posts
Default How much time do you spend working on your 944?

I've been back and forth on buying a 85.5+ N/A model. My biggest fear is of course the maintenance.

So how often do you have to work on your 944? If you don't turn your own wrench, how often do you find yourself bringing her in?

If I do get a 944, it would be a well-maintained example that has all records and a Porsche inspection. I just don't want to be under it more than I need to- I'm comfortable with working on cars, but I'm also a student and have other priorities.

I guess a few hours here and there is fine. I have a place to work on it, and I make ~$5k every summer that I can buy parts with. Thanks for any info!
Old 11-06-2012, 07:40 PM
Fara
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

At the moment, I'm working on it every weekend for at least one day.
This is because my project list is significantly larger than average due to my plans for the car.

However, prior to this, I was spending around one day every two months doing routine maintenance and general inspections (car was being driven every weekend and occasionally on weekdays)
Old 11-06-2012, 07:46 PM
odonnell
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by Fara
However, prior to this, I was spending around one day every two months doing routine maintenance and general inspections (car was being driven every weekend and occasionally on weekdays)
That sounds about how often I'll be driving it- I take the bus everywhere usually. What types of maintenance were you doing every few months? Like fluids and whatnot?
Old 11-06-2012, 07:47 PM
Hollywood D
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts