Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New 944 Owner /Fuel line question

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2011, 10:19 PM
St3mpy
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 944 Owner /Fuel line question

Ok, so I traded my 1996 Saab 900 Turbo for a 1984 944. I'm still learning the car, so go easy on me. I just replaced a leaky clutch master cylinder, but I'm having some other issues. The main thing I'm worried about are the fuel lines that lead to the fuel rail. They are hose clamped on and leaking slightly. This can't be right, as I don't think any fuel injected car came with fuel hoses clamped on to the fuel rail. What type of connection should be there? And where could I find a part like this?

Also, the engine shutters when I'm pulling from a stop. I assume it's the engine mounts, but it's always a good idea to get opinons from people who know these cars. The rest of the issues I'm having are smaller items, or things I know what are wrong (such as a bad inner tie-rod on the driver side).

Thanks in advance.

Matt
Old 02-03-2011, 10:23 PM
St3mpy
Instructor

Oh, one other thing. I noticed that my vacuum hose was popped off the vacuum canister in the driver side fender. The strange thing is, the other hose attached to it just dumps into the atmosphere. Anyone know why this is, or what it should be hooked up to?
Old 02-03-2011, 10:35 PM
choinga
Three Wheelin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Fuel line replacement and motor mounts are a couple of the first few things folks do with "new to them" 944/951's.

Fortunately, the fuel line is pretty easy - the motor mounts are a bit more challenging as you have drop the crossmember and support the engine up top to get them in/out.

If your fuel lines are leaking - don't drive. The design of the lines is pretty bad...not to mention draping them over the exhaust manifold...