Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice for new owner ???

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2010, 07:31 PM
Kerry Chadderton
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice for new owner ???

Hello All! At 2:30 this afternoon I bought my first real Porsche. 1984 944. I am so excited! I've wanted one for a long, long time. This car sat for a while, but is in one piece, straight and quite unmolested for it's age. I will trailer it to the shop and do the normal stuff I do with a purchase like this; change fluids, check everthing and investigate before cranking her.

I'm a mechanic by trade but I want to know from those here with experience what I need to pay special attention to with these particular cars.
Old 10-02-2010, 07:42 PM
Darwantae951

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

Belts/waterpump/rollers/front engine seals. The belts are the big ticket item that you will want to replace just for piece of mind.
Old 10-02-2010, 08:13 PM
athens944
Pro

Welcome to the Obsession!
Old 10-02-2010, 08:28 PM
ernie9468
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Talking