Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front brakes on 86 turbo

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2002, 05:50 PM
Ahmet
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 32 Likes on 24 Posts
Post Front brakes on 86 turbo

Hello, I have an 86 turbo I'm working on. The car locks up it's rear brakes way earlier than the fronts, even when backing up. Brake pads are nearly at full thickness in the front. I'm also being told that it throws sparks from the front brakes under hard braking.

Anyway, I'd like to upgrade my front brakes, as I've already started modifying the engine, and will go onto the suspension and hopefully start tracking the car in a few months. Problem is I'm a student and don't have too much money to throw at the car. What would you guys suggest as a relatively cheap upgrade for my front brakes?
Ahmet
Old 03-05-2002, 12:08 AM
Ahmet
Addict
Rennlist Member

Anybody?
Old 03-05-2002, 02:10 AM
Zach C
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb

If they're sparking and grinding and the pads are good, that kind of leaves you with rotor problems, unless some chevy mechanic put the wrong year's pads or rotors on somehow (I don't think this is possible, but mechanics have found some pretty amazing things to do to these cars).

As far as cheap upgrades, you can do really well with a new set of stock rotors and some good performance pads from Mintex or Pagid. I use Jurid pads which have very good stopping power but sqeal like you wouldn't believe. The rotors on these cars are pretty soft, and you should probably replace them (not expensive) rather than have them turned.

If you have a little extra dough, you could get cross drilled rotors, but then some people might wonder about your commitment if you didn't do the same to the rear.