Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Road America DE, sweeeet!

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2002 | 06:21 PM
Brent 89 - GT
Addict
Rennlist Member

Talking First Road America DE, sweeeet!

I've been doing PCA DE's for three years now. My club always makes a trip to R/A. This is the first time I made the trip. Man, I didn't know what I was missing, that is a great track. We had some rain both days but, I managed to get some great laps in. There were some pretty cool cars out there too. I had three, count em, three 996 twin turbos in my group, plus a new M3 with the SMG. Two of the 996TTs were beating me up, the third with an obviously stock suspension was easily held at bay. He would slowly pull up on the three bigger straights only to be left in the turns. The M3 is a pretty quick car. My 951 seemed to be able to pull away at higher speeds, above 120. Other than that he was fast, faster than me. I think he was running 2:46s at best and I ran a 2:47. His on big street tires, mine on smaller slippery Yokohama track tires.

It was a blast though The hills are so much fun! Like the worlds fastest roller coaster. If you ever get a chance, that track is certianly one of the finest four miles of asphalt on the planet.
Old 08-26-2002 | 06:29 PM
M758
Race Director

Great to see the 4cyl banner being held up against the "other guys"

How was R/A on brakes? I know a guy with a RS America that said he would go to R/A with fresh rotors and leave with warped ones. He even said he was warping what I think were big reds out there. Said he went to Alcon rotors and that finally stopped.

I always thought he was overdriving the car. It is a stock 250hp & stock weight so I would not have expected problem. He was running DEs only. No Time Trials or races.

Did you have and braking problems?
Still Using the stock rotor & caliper?