Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why did you buy a Porsche?

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2009, 03:09 AM
BlackOp
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Why did you buy a Porsche?

Seems like quite a diverse group of people around here....

I bought mine as I'm a professional visual artist and loved the lines. I also have a deep appreciation for quality engineering and attention to detail. There is something quintessential about 80's Porsche design. I also like restoring vintage things back to health. I viewed this as a challenge and an opportunity to own something unique.

I didnt realize how much I would learn about automobiles...which has made this totally worth it. I will probably own one for the rest of my life...

What's your story?
Old 10-16-2009, 03:47 AM
Luis de Prat
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I bought a 944 because I had lusted for one ever since that fold out ad in 1982 featuring a bright red 944 that said "Dr. Porsche invites you to test drive the newest Porsche ... "
Old 10-16-2009, 03:58 AM
PennyWise
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just start my first job and it was love at first site for both the 944S2 and 968 when they were released. Had to wait 15 years, but I got them
Old 10-16-2009, 04:07 AM
Kevsporsche944
Rennlist Member

How I came into my Porsche...

It was in 1984 and I was a sophmore in high school. I fell in love with the 944 in the movie Sixteen Candles. I hounded my parents and for graduation night my parents handed me a gift and in the box were the keys to a new '86 Porsche 944. I still have the car to this day. It has less than 70k miles on it. It has been reliable and is a joy to drive. It still turns head and there isn't a day when someone comes up and talks to me about the car.