Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie: S2 Handling Questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 10:45 PM
Photodan
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie: S2 Handling Questions

Hi,

I'm new to the 944 after coming from Alfas and BMWs so forgive my ignorance and a painfully long winded question.

My 1990 S2 is pretty worn in the suspension department, it's all stock (Sachs) nothing fancy. I can't afford to get stuck into the suspension just yet. My problem is that this thing is rather "tight" I'm really surprised by the amount of understeer this thing has and how early it gets to it's limit. I thew on some new tires and played around with the pressures. I dropped the backs to 36 PSI from the placarded 44 and that helped some, but now it feels squirmy with the soft sidewalls (Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2's on stock rims). I've also had an alignment done. I've noticed that '89 and '91 S2's rear tire pressure is 36PSI but the '90 is 44 PSI and I think they all have a 16mm rear swaybar, what's with that? I just want it more neutral until I can throw some money into a decent suspension setup. Would a good short term fix be the 18mm rear bar like on earlier 944's? Any advice will be gratefully accepted.
Old 03-18-2009, 10:58 PM
GTSilver944
Burning Brakes

Received 28 Likes on 16 Posts

I'd play with tire pressure until you have more money. Try running a few more psi in the front tires than in the rear, like 44 front 40 rear. If that doesnt work you could buy a used 18 or 19 (m030) rear sway. The 19's are adjustable, but they were originally paired with a 30mm front (your car has a 26.8). So, depending on who you talk to and their preferred suspension setup, a 19 could eliminate the understeer or potentially induce a little oversteer. Btw, it'll feel like a completely different car with some new shocks.