Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear strut question

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2009, 09:45 PM
krazykarl
Burning Brakes

Received 84 Likes on 43 Posts
Default Rear strut question

I'm trying to get a better understanding on the mechanics of the 944 rear suspension. I bought an S2 back in September and the PO mentioned the rear struts could stand to be replaced because he could feel the rear end squat under acceleration. I know in mcpherson suspensions the struts main purpose is to dampen the oscillation of the springs, but does it work the same way with a torsion bar? Can warn struts cause squatting?

Here's a picture of my car on acceleration coming out of the start of an auto-x course

Is it bad? Or is it fairly normal? This is my first RWD car so I'm still learning all its characteristics compared to FWD. Thanks.
Old 01-13-2009, 09:54 PM
Spidey944
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Well, the rear suspension on these cars has shocks, not struts. A worn set of shocks can cause some squat under accel and at other times.
Old 01-13-2009, 09:56 PM
krazykarl
Burning Brakes

ah right, somehow I still get those two words mixed up. shock absorbers are what I'm inquiring about.
Old 01-13-2009, 10:03 PM
Van
Rennlist Member

Received 94 Likes on 64 Posts

It is likely that the rear shocks are original and could stand to be replaced. Although, in your picture, that weight transfer to the rear is quite typical of a rear wheel drive car...