Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch / Master Cylinder or Slave Cylinder ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2008, 09:37 PM
gricec
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch / Master Cylinder or Slave Cylinder ?

Hey

I am a first time poster and an absolute novice when it comes to mechanics.

I have a Black 84 944 which I have had for around 6 months.

Recently I had a problem where the clutch pedal just stuck to the floor. I released it with my hand it came back up but when pressed on again there was virtually no resistance all the wat to the floor. Then about 2-3 inches off the floor it would bite and you could change gear.

So I took it down to my local german mechanic and he told me that my clutch was failing and I needed a new clutch and subsequently quoted me 1800$ for installation of a clutch kit a master cylinder and slave cylinder.

However after looking at sites like this one, the consensus seems to be that the clutch pedal sticking to the floor is a master cylinder/ salve cylinder problem.

Can it be a clutch problem or is my mechanic pulling one on me.

If anyone can help would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Chris
Old 04-02-2008, 10:00 PM
MomentumGuy
Instructor

Hi Chris, welcome to Rennlist - there are quite a few people with more knowledge that post here, but I might be able to get you started.

Do you have any documentation from the previous owner (PO) regarding if/when the clutch was replaced? Was the clutch slipping before you had the problem?

The symptoms you describe indicate a problem with the clutch hydraulics. The clutch uses brake fluid, and shares the resevoir with the brake system. Is there enough brake fluid in the resevoir to feed the clutch?