Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch job, w/o removing transaxle

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2007, 05:37 AM
FRporscheman
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Clutch job, w/o removing transaxle

I posted a topic just a short while ago asking about the advantages of using a torque tube instead of a conventional driveshaft, so I got that covered. I always wondered why, though, they couldn't make a nice little access port to slide the clutch out, like on the 928. They finally did it for the 968.

Anyway, I met a 924S owner in Long Beach at a gtg last year. He told me he was a long-time mechanic by trade and he'd seen a lot of stuff. He also told me he completely understood the deal behind the 924/944 clutch arrangement. A lot of blah, and some more blah, and to make a long story short, he said he was told how the clutch could be changed easily.

To break it down:
1. cut away some of the spare tire well (he said a large hole is enough, but I think you'd have to cut most of it away)
2. disconnect axles from the tranny and hang them on wires
3. disconnect the shift rod
4. unbolt the TT from the bellhousing
5. support the transaxle with a jack, then unbolt the trans mount bolts
6. slide the trans/tt assembly backward enough to completely get the driveshaft out of the bellhousing, and voila

I will definitely try this next time I need to do a clutch, but has anyone here thought of this? Tried this? It would be nice to be able to leave the dumb tranny in there. It's a mondo bitch getting it lined up with the rear bellhousing, while getting the shift rod in, and avoiding dropping a big piece of pain on your face.
Old 02-14-2007, 07:05 AM
badmofofosho
I Bad
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts