Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944/924 red tail lights Testors Write-up (not for 56k)

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2005, 12:15 PM
testarossa_td
Race Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 944/924 red tail lights Testors Write-up (not for 56k)

Ok so having had my car bunged in the rear I figured hey why not mess with it so that others can learn. So I experimented with varying levels of the Testors Transparent Candy Apple Red 1605.
Here are the pictures illustrating the process I took.
I am not a professional body man or painter so anybody can do this!

Here is the paint you will use so very little of it is not even funny.
(You could probably do a fleet of cars with one can...seriously)

Masking the middle bar off, I would wedge the tape in between the lense starting at the outer edge then fold it down over the bar.

I then took an exacto and cut along the groove, laying the blade flat against the top of the lenses below.

I then folded the overhang and pushed it flat with the blade up against the underside.

I opened up the hatch and peeled back the top part of the tape. When applying the tape, I overlapped so that it would be easier to remove and to insure coverage. With the tape peeled back I wedged newspaper under it and taped it down to each other and the body. The inside area by the license plate allowed me to put my hand behind the paper to insure and good bond with the tape.

Here is a first shot comparison in regards to one light layer of Candy apple and the stock light. I would stop at one light layer if you like the next two pictures and want to keep the shine.