Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rocking Car Squeak

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2004, 09:34 PM
jamiejim
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rocking Car Squeak

If I push on the rear of the car and rock it, there is a "creaking noise", kind of like a squeaky box spring mattress, that comes from underneath the rear of the car. Any thoughts on what to look for - bad struts, something to lubricate, etc.? Thanks.
Old 06-01-2004, 09:38 PM
hoffman912
The Hoffinator
Rennlist Member

Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts

hmm.. tortion bar suspension? look at your rear tortion bar controll arm bushings.
Old 06-01-2004, 09:51 PM
pete944
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yep, what Harry said.
Old 06-01-2004, 10:00 PM
jamiejim
Racer

I don't know where to find the "torsion bar bushings" (obviously, I'm not a mechanic), or how to tell if they are the culprit, but I'll look in the Haynes manual and see what it says. Thanks.
Old 06-01-2004, 10:04 PM
Luis de Prat
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

In 212K miles on my 83 I've never gotten a peep out of the rear torsion bars. They've been rock solid.

The rear shocks, however, have been replaced twice since I've owned the car.
Old 06-01-2004, 10:06 PM
jamiejim
Racer

If I bounce on the car, the shocks seem fine, which I guess doesn't mean they can't still squeak. I'll check them out, no idea now old they are. Any suggestions on in-expensive rear shocks for good handling on a daily driver, not for track use?
Old 06-01-2004, 10:16 PM
bloodraven
Race Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

well...i had the same sound from the front of the car, and about six months later found the culprit...front inner sway bar bushings...one of them is almost completely disintegrated, and is no longer where it is supposed to be....
Old 06-01-2004, 11:22 PM
hoffman912
The Hoffinator