Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Painting help please

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2004, 06:45 PM
97xray
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Painting help please

Preliminary info: I'm not a pro - but a dedicated novice accepting the risks of trying to do a highly visible paint job myself - so don't rip into me...

As many of you know I have an odd in-between Euro / US regulation bumper. While it has the central lights of the Euro design, it is steel and has the shocks behind it as well. I've done some fiberglass work to smooth some of the steel edges that looked like factory mistakes around those "fog" or "running" lights (neither expression is fitting)! The finished product will no longer have the mini-bumperettes - these were never "just" like Euros, there was no nice little fiberglass housing for them - they just sat there looking sad and cracked from old age! And the chips and holes have been filled and sanded.

Cutting to the chase:

I've sprayed two thin primer coats and wet sanded that (once dry) with 400 grit as per the general consensus after searching the archives here.
I'm on my second spray of black (very light coats) tonight and will wait ~24 hours before going at it again. When the paint goes on, it looks very rough, not smooth - but I know the metal / fiberglass work were VERY smooth when I finished them. A preliminary question is: Will it dry smoother?... but I'll find out tomorrow!

I'm using no fancy equipment here - a simple and cheap pneumatic sprayer (running off 15gallon tank at ~90psi). My hands and arms are the sanders - with a block for the big flat spots. No orbitals or anything like that were used.

How many coats would you guys recommend and how can I increase the luster and gloss of the job. I have the clear coat, but don't have a sense of how many layers, etc.