Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MS/951 – Another Standalone Build

Old 02-15-2019, 01:30 AM
Dare
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Post MS/951 – Another Standalone Build

Inspired by odonnell’s latest project, and the generous contributions from Dougs951S, I have decided to take the plunge and build a MicroSquirt-based standalone system for my 951 track car. A standalone system has always been part of my plan for this car, and with a number of other mechanical things out of the way, now seems like a good time to start.

I should say that before settling on MicroSquirt I did seriously consider going with VEMS. While I have no direct experience with it, it really does seem like a great system. I’m also greatly appreciative of the attention given to the 944 community by the proponents of VEMS (most notably, raceboy), which I feel we’re all lucky to have. I think anyone looking for a replacement engine management system would do well to investigate VEMS.

That said, for me, more than half the enjoyment of building a project car comes from the building itself. (It would have to be, considering how little time my car has spent on the road!) So starting with a relatively open and DIY system like MegaSquirt makes sense. And the strong community surrounding it gives me a great opportunity to learn.

It's always good to start any project with a clear set of goals, so here are mine:

GOALS
  • Based on the fully-built MicroSquirt module (like odonnell’s project)
  • Support for a modest set of engine management features, including:
    • Batch or semi-sequential injector firing using the stock wiring configuration
    • Stock coil/distributor or wasted spark
    • Up to 2 engine position / speed sensor inputs
    • Speed/density air metering, with MAP sensor integrated into the ECU
    • Knock detection (via KnockSenseMS)