Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Couple of electrical dash area questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2018 | 05:39 PM
Kilohertz
Advanced

Default Couple of electrical dash area questions

1. I decided to get all my dash lights working and after removing the gauge cluster, discovered a cluster F of crap back there, lot's of bubba type wiring and stuff. I have cleaned it pretty much all up, and removed the superfluous wires, but there is one factory looking wire group of 3 wires, brown, black/yel and gray/blu, blk/yel has a plastic spade female on it. Brown confirmed is ground. Any ideas what this is for? I studied the diagrams for a while but couldn't find what these wires connect to. The wires are currently behind the gauges, and it runs down to behind the heater controls and disappears somewhere behind the heating plenum.

2. Then there is this relay, which kind of looks factory, but probably not, was bolted right under the dash, just to the left of the center console, right beside the radio relay. Wires didn't go anywhere were just bundled up under the dash.

3. What is the normal action of the MPG gauge, ie when you turn the key on does it swing back to the left, or after the engine starts does it move any? Mine just stays to the right, the needle moves as it was swinging around when I was changing the bulbs. It was disconnected from the speedo when I took everything apart, I have since plugged it back in. Does the car need to be moving for the gauge t do anything?

Thanks all...I'm getting there.

Mystery 3 wires in a black vinyl casing

Relay that was mounted beside the radio relay

Last edited by Kilohertz; 04-22-2018 at 10:29 PM.
Old 04-22-2018 | 08:08 PM
marc abrams
Burning Brakes

1. The Roman numeral is the page in which the wire continues to. E.g. IV is page 4