Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Squealing Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2003, 05:50 PM
jamiejim
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Squealing Brakes

I have read several posts about squealing brakes. Does anyone know if any of the dampers/anti squeak pads/sprays really work? Based on my PPI I have plenty of brakes left, so I don't know what exactly is making them squeak. I'm not a mechanic, is it easy to pull the brakes apart to look at them? Thanks.
Old 12-11-2003, 07:06 PM
Skip
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

If you've already read through the archives here, you may have already seen my responses but most brake squeal problems are related to vibration rather than friction material - unless using high metallic content of high carbon content pads (race pads). Anti-squeal shims are effective, but not inclusive. It sometimes takes a liberal dose of anti-squeal (anti-sieze) paste to fully abate the problem. Look for any areas of metal-to-metal contact and coat them. Lubro Moly is about the best there is - but, Permatex and 3M products are more readily available at local parts stores.

There are more things that can help end squeal - like resurfacing rotors, chamfering the pad edges, etc.

Good Luck!
Old 12-11-2003, 07:16 PM
Sami951
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts