Notices
914/914-6 Forum 1969-1976
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Seriously considering a 914...where do I start?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2007, 08:11 PM
ScottArizona
Rennlist Member

Received 730 Likes on 370 Posts
Default Seriously considering a 914...where do I start?

Hey guys,
I've got a 996 tip which I use as a daily, but lately I've been seriously kicking around the idea of getting a 914 as a fun weekend/project car. My father-in-law is a welder by trade, and we'd tackle the project together, so a bit of rust is not a huge deal.

Problem is, as the former owner of water-cooled porsches only (boxster, boxster s, and 996) I don't know squat about 914's, what to look out for, which years are best, etc....

Could anyone steer me in th direction of a buyer's guide or good 914 web resource? I've always loved these cars (even though I've never actually driven one), as it was a signal orange 914 that started my porsche obsession when I was about 7 years old (my Dad's best friend had one, and I remember admiring that car as though it were yesterday). Thanks guys. Scott.
Old 12-24-2007, 08:51 PM
aeronautica86
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I too am sort of in a search for the right 914 at the moment, and having just begun as well I don't have much to offer in data about the cars, but I would suggest checking out the forums at www.914club.com, lots of great info and people there and its all about 914s
Old 12-26-2007, 09:36 AM
cal44
Burning Brakes