911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

New owner

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2014, 05:21 PM
dave964diver
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New owner

Hi all, I'm new to the 930 club purchased a dage converted 88 targa today.

I have a c2 which I am way more familiar with but am keen to learn about the 930 variant.

I'm looking forward to getting it out however on the drive back home it seems to be suffering with misfire and back fire issues. My question is where to start.

Cheers

Dave
Old 06-26-2014, 10:23 PM
mel_t_vin
Rennlist Member

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Welcome to the forum. Nice looking turbo targa.

It would help if you post a photo of your engine compartment and provide a list of anything not stock on your car, drivetrain wise. In other words, we don't need to know about the Club Sport wheel, the Momo shift ****, or the fuzzy dice hanging from your rear-view mirror.

Also, please provide as much detail [what, where, when, how] about your current issue, as possible.
Old 06-27-2014, 10:46 AM
Last930
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In my opinion I'd start with a full service on the car so you know where everything stands - Oil change, brake fluid flush, tune up on engine, etc.
Old 06-27-2014, 05:21 PM
Igooz
Trucker
Rennlist Member

Received 495 Likes on 276 Posts

^+1...I always want to get my own baseline unless if I am buying from someone like myself that has an over maintained and documented car...
Old 06-27-2014, 05:32 PM
dave964diver
Racer

Hi guys,

Thanks for the advice, the engine is bone stock and in good clean order at least from appearance. I had the leads dizzy and rotar off today checked them all and are all a ok. Obviously I can't see if a lead is leaking and causing a misfire but they are all passing current. The coil is doing its job and as well.