Notices
911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

What does everyone think of this 930?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2013, 10:41 PM
MontyRS
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What does everyone think of this 930?

I just made my first post in the 993 forum as an introduction. I'm officially starting my search for a very clean yet driveable 930 or 993. I definitely appreciate the price difference, but that is not a concern as I feel each car has limited downside at this point. I have never driven either car, but have always loved these cars.

Top Gear Porsche seems to sell plenty of clean examples of these air cooled Porsches. Anyone buy from them?

Since I am new to Porsche and just starting to figure out what I need to know, I'm curious what everyone thinks of this particular car: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Porsc...item19db44aeff

I realize it will never be a "collectible" but that doesn't concern me. I'm looking for a car that is clean, well maintained and will hold its value. Does this fall into the "Frankenstein" category by the Porsche faithful?

Thanks!
Old 04-29-2013, 09:13 AM
slownrusty
Rennlist Member

Received 320 Likes on 151 Posts

Nice car, well presented, good price (with the make an offer option, can't beat that). You would think 19" wheels would look cartoonish, but not bad (those HREs are mega $$). Personally I think 18s would be as large as I would go, with 17" being optimal.

If it passes a PPI, it would be a solid buy.

Why do you say it would never be collectible?

993 and 930 are about 20 years apart in development, my advice is to drive one of each before deciding. Both have their individual merits.

I really dislike the Corbeau A4s in that car.

Yasin
Old 04-29-2013, 10:55 AM
six gun
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post