Notices
911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

After buying my 930, here are the problems I have so far ....

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2007, 08:03 PM
Maxx1
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default After buying my 930, here are the problems I have so far ....

I've driven the car for a couple hundred miles so far with no problems.... it's been great! Recently the car has stalled while slowing down to make a turn on a side street. This is weird because it's run fine up to this point.

The other thing is, sometimes, maybe 10% of the time it's hard to get it into first gear at stop lights. None of the gears ever grind or shift hard, but it's like the first gear syncro isn't working right all the time. I know this 4 speed isn't the greatest transmission on the Planet, but is this common with this car?

I am a newbie with the 930s and am comparing them to my other former Porsches, a Boxster S and an 87 Carrera coupe.
Old 07-01-2007, 09:58 PM
DonE
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Don't know what to tell you about the stalling. Since you're a new 930 owner, you might want to take it to a good P-mechanic for diagnosis.

As for the first gear issue, you might want to check the clutch adjustment. The 4sp trannies are just fine. If the cable adjustment doesn't work, then you might have a worn synchro.
Old 07-01-2007, 10:29 PM
Mark Houghton
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by DonE
Don't know what to tell you about the stalling. Since you're a new 930 owner, you might want to take it to a good P-mechanic for diagnosis.

As for the first gear issue, you might want to check the clutch adjustment. The 4sp trannies are just fine. If the cable adjustment doesn't work, then you might have a worn synchro.