Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

997.2 C4S - clutch baked @ 16K?? WTF.

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2017, 12:57 PM
AutobahnIstLieb
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 997.2 C4S - clutch baked @ 16K?? WTF.

I have a 2012 887.2 C4S 6-spd. I've owned the car for 18 months, having purchased it from a Porsche dealer with 4,000 miles on it "Porsche Approved." It is strictly a weekend car, no track days or autocross, with the occasional long road trip up the California coast.

I have been driving sticks for 33 years - as long as I have been driving. I learned on a 1966 Bronco with a clutch so stiff I literally had to stand up to engage. I've owned a dozen manuals since and have never in my life had to replace a clutch. I got 163,000 miles on the original clutch on my Nissan pickup, sold to a friend and he told me he got another 40K out of it before he finally had to replace it. I got 80,000 miles on my M3 - known as a clutch killer, before I sold it with the clutch feeling as strong as the day I bought it new.

So two weeks ago, I'm on Kanan heading for The Rock Store and I jam into 4th after exiting the tunnels and my heart sank and my face went white as I mashed the throttle and felt the engine spool up to 5,500 revs with no acceleration. I refused to believe it was the clutch slipping at only 16,000 miles so I pulled over and slowly began again.

Everything was just fine in 1st, friction point felt fine, clutch grabbed and my 3.8 flat 6 accelerated effortlessly through 7,000 revs as I put the left foot down to the floor and executed a shift so smooth, I'd defy anyone to tell me I'd just shifted. Same story up through third, now at about 70MPH, give it some gas, hit 5,500 rpm and like clockwork, it slips again.

Not good.

This being a Sunday, I nursed it home and immediately took it into my local Porsche dealer a few days later. The shop advised me the clutch was worn and needed replacement.