85 MPH Speedometer - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
911 Forum
Sponsored by:

85 MPH Speedometer

 
Old 10-01-2011, 04:20 PM
  #1  
tr4guy
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: johnstown PA
Posts: 85
Default 85 MPH Speedometer

I just bought a 1980 911 Targa a couple weeks ago and I'm having some fun with it but I'm also wondering why a car that can do close to 140 MPH has a speedometer installed in it's dash that only reads up to 85 MPH. Doesn't seem logical to me.....anyone know an explanation for this oxymoron?????
tr4guy is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 04:55 PM
  #2  
ivangene
Parts Specialist
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16,326
Default

Federal Government

no sense and an oxymoron....

find yourself a man's speedo !
ivangene is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 08:39 PM
  #3  
ron mcatee
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ron mcatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 2,301
Default

Back in those days, the Federal government mandated cars have only 85 mph speedo's. Some dumbass in DC probably thought it would slow folks down.
ron mcatee is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 10:45 PM
  #4  
theiceman
Super User
 
theiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cambridge Ontario Canada
Posts: 22,626
Default

Wait I thought that was about 85 they did that not 80 I would be verifying that is the original speedo. Then of course original miles
theiceman is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 12:40 AM
  #5  
tr4guy
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: johnstown PA
Posts: 85
Default

It has 74467 showing on the ORIGINAL speedo/////
tr4guy is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 11:44 AM
  #6  
2Utes
User
 
2Utes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greater Portland, Oregon
Posts: 22
Default

Officer: "How fast do you think you were going, son?"
Me: "Not one mph over 85, sir."

My 82SC has the same original 85mph speedo.
2Utes is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 12:02 PM
  #7  
ivangene
Parts Specialist
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16,326
Default

LOL

I swear officer, you can look for yourself, this car wont even go over 85 - see
ivangene is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 01:48 PM
  #8  
Cajun
User
 
Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 763
Default

My '81 has the 85mph speedo too...about to change out for a later model...

It's always fun to peg it and see how long it takes to slow down before the speedo begins to slow!
Cajun is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 09:31 AM
  #9  
SARGEPUG
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SARGEPUG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC metro area
Posts: 2,112
Default

Originally Posted by Cajun View Post
My '81 has the 85mph speedo too...about to change out for a later model...

It's always fun to peg it and see how long it takes to slow down before the speedo begins to slow!
haha! That is so true! I remember when I had a new 87' Mustang GT, i would do the same thing. It had same pathetic 85 speedo.
SARGEPUG is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 10:54 AM
  #10  
redridge
Super User
 
redridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,259
Default

85mph.... that means you were doing 90 since Porsche are always conservative with their numbers.
redridge is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 01:09 PM
  #11  
Jay Gratton
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor
 
Jay Gratton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Merrimack, NH
Posts: 6,567
Default

I would leave it. Fun conversation while in the car with a passenger. Besides, if you are driving over that on the highway I wouldn't be concerned about the needle, I would be all about what is in front of me.
Jay Gratton is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 85 MPH Speedometer


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: