Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

What do you know about these wheels?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 03:01 AM
bluetick
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What do you know about these wheels?

I am a Porsche noob contemplating the purchase of the car below. Purportedly, it is a RoW 1979 911SC purchased in Germany by a US serviceman, took a spin at some pint resulting in right rear damage to the fender and trailing arm (repaired), spent time as a race car owned and prepared by the second owner - pat williams of patwilliamsracing.com (cloth/vinlydriver's seat was botched a that time to allow for racing harness), and it later underwent a motor rebuild by patwilliamsracing about 20K miles ago (and suspension bushings were also replaced).

This car has roughly 200,000 miles on it now (although odometer is metric and I haven't done the math). The second gear syncros are a bit worn and the interior is a little rough, but the motor runs like a sewing machine imo. It is being offered at a fair but probably somewhat high price (around $16.5K). I can likely negotiate syncro repair into the purchase or offset the price accordingly

The paint is supposedly original except for respray associated with repairs. There is no evidence of rust, aside from a spot on the right front fender where the paint has chipped away.

The car had been sitting for awhile when I went to see/drive it a week ago. There was no evidence of any leaking below/beneath the car.

At the moment. I am curious about the wheels. The seller (3rd owner) says they have Porsche part numbers and are original to the car as far as he and Pat Williams could determine.

I ripped the following photo from the seller. Any insight regarding these wheels as well as other thoughts/input/suggestions would be appreciated.
(Also, patwilliamsracing.com has some fabulous track footage on youtube - I have no affiliation with them whatsoever but the videos are highly entertaining!)
Attached Images