Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

'89 Targa Accident damage?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 02:25 PM
gdwprice
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '89 Targa Accident damage?

Hi, I'm new to Rennlist and have been been looking for a 911. I'm reasonably competent at maintenance but have been looking for a car with a good body: solid, original and preferably unpainted. I'd rather have a scrape or dent and know what I'm getting then a possibly inferior repair.

Anyway, to my point. I just looked at a 58,000 car that has been with the current owner for 8 years. I went over the car and everything looked great. There was a bit of high paint along the trunk edge but the paint all matched, no overspray ANYWHERE and was seemingly original. However, upon further investigation I found what I think was an accident damage/repair work on the passenger side inner fender. I'm attaching a photograph and would welcome any responses as to what it is and if I should be concerned?

On a side note, the owner has covered only 8,000 miles in 8 years and the only apparent servicing was an annual oil change at his local garage - 'Allisons'!

Ok - just need to figure out how to attach the pic?!

Old 07-08-2010, 02:31 PM
gdwprice
Advanced

Old 07-08-2010, 02:37 PM
gdwprice
Advanced

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pi...3&id=529018661
Old 07-08-2010, 03:08 PM
User 4221
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 47 Likes on 29 Posts

I couldn't tell much from the pic but i would inspect the shock mount area. If the factory applied sealant is in good shape then you are probably OK. If it is cracked or obviously altered, then I would suspect prior damage.

One thing to do is buy or borrow a paint thickness meter and measure the entire car. If that fender is inconsistent with the rest of the car then damage has likely occurred.
Old 07-08-2010, 03:35 PM
gdwprice
Advanced