Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

New Owner and First Issue!

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2009, 10:08 AM
Slimwear
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Owner and First Issue!

After reading this forum and looking around for a while I bought my first air cooled Porsche (I own a 2003 Boxster S). It's a 1986 Targa and my first drive in it was through the monsoon that hit Atlanta in the evening. I had water up to the doors at time but the car never gave a hint of trouble. The trouble came when I got home. The owner had replaced the interior door handle and taken the door apart in the process. When I had it in my driveway I started playing with the controls in the car and locked the door from the inside. I can't get the door open now from the inside or outside. I'm guessing I need to take the door apart but I thought I would ask the group if they have any ideas.

The car is black on black with 130K+ miles. I have a lot of the reciepts for work. Even in the monsoon the top didn't leak. One interesting note on the car is that the first owner of it was Tom Cruise. I would have preferred it to be Steve McQueen or Paul Newman but it's a good conversation starter.

Thanks in advance for any ideas you could offer and, yes, I will get pictures up very soon.

Emery
Old 09-17-2009, 03:24 PM
rusnak
I haddah Google dat
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The mind reels at the list of things that can be damaged by that much water. As for locking yourself out....you left the key inside? AAA maybe? Passenger door? If the outer door handle is off, then push the plate just inside the door skin "inward" and the door should open.
Old 09-17-2009, 06:09 PM
Slimwear
Advanced

Thanks for the reply and I'm sorry I wasn't more clear.