Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

I've found my perfect match - almost. Is change forbidden?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008, 11:25 PM
trikerider
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I've found my perfect match - almost. Is change forbidden?

I've almost decided on the model (993) and I've been searching for the perfect vehicle. Perfection would be 1998 in gray or black with black leather interior and 3 pedals.

I think I can live with some compromises. 1998's seem to be quite a bit more expensive than the 1995's so I think I could live with a 1995 - unless there's something wrong with the '95 model year. (I'm new to this) But there are some things I just don't think I could tolerate . . . blue leather interiors are one of those things and I keep finding 993's with blue leather interiors. I don't understand the blue leather interior choice. In fact, I don't understand the choice of any interior except black leather.

So my question is, how tough is it to turn a blue leather interior into a black one? Is this sacrilege or just foolishly expensive?

Also, if I were to find the perfect 993 but the exterior color is not to my liking, how wrong would it be to have it painted in a shade more in keeping with my vision?

Or . . . do I just keep looking?

Old 12-29-2008, 12:20 AM
old man neri
Drifting

Received 92 Likes on 56 Posts

Might have better luck if you ask the 993 section.

Changing a car's colour is very expensive if you want it done right. Best to wait till you find the right car for you.
Old 12-29-2008, 12:26 AM
Ed Hughes
Rennlist Member

Received 80 Likes on 54 Posts

+1 on the 993 section

Changing a color will drop the value significantly. As noted, to do it right costs a lot of money. Even done right, you've still diminished the value.
Old 12-29-2008, 10:07 AM
911vet
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post