Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Noob Questions for 1990 and 1984 911

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2008, 12:39 PM
bda10889
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob Questions for 1990 and 1984 911

I have just inherited the maintance and up keep of a couple of P-Cars.... on is a 1990 911 Cabriolet and the other is a 1984 Targa. Then both need some attention. First thing is an oil change. I will be using Redline Oil, but wondered what Oil Filters you all recommended. or any other quirks that I should know about. I am brand new to dealing with the Porsche world, but I have a good bit of experience in the VAG world. I am a member of various forums for that stuff.

Any info would be great...

thanks
Old 09-12-2008, 01:28 PM
84_Carrera
Legacy Flounder
Rennlist Member

Welcome aboard.

Personally, with my '84, I use Mahle filters & Brad Penn Racing Oil. Just be sure the oil you choose is NOT SM-rated & you're at least one step ahead of the average shmoe who's not asking the question you did.

http://www.lnengineering.com/oil.html

Remember to get new crush washers when you change the oil (2 per change on my '84). Remember also to NOT overfill. You're better off being low a quart than high a quart. I put in about 9 qts, then add to suit after the car gets up to temp.
Old 09-13-2008, 05:43 AM
ked
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I would thoroughly review the Owner's Manuals & acquire the Bentley Service Manuals for those models. The Porsche 911 is almost the definition of quirky (Frere's book on the development history is a great overview) - for instance, its dry sump engine-oiling system has two oil drain plugs. These cars are not difficult to maintain, just very specific in nature. Enjoy!
Old 09-13-2008, 08:17 AM
KC911
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 84_Carrera
... I use Mahle filters & Brad Penn Racing Oil.