Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Should I consider this car

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2008, 09:39 PM
Roy Rabold
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I consider this car

This is my first time on this board. I am a 944 owner for the last three years. I would like to have a 911 and have found a 1984 Carrera with 145,000 miles on it for $19,000. It has all the service records and was always maintained at a Porsche dealer. From what I can tell there are no leaks and there is no smoke upon starting. It is guards red, black interior. Sunroof with a/c, etc. Would this be a good buy or is it too much for this age car? I have looked at used Boxters at this price which are a alot newer. Would I be better off with a newer Boxter?
Old 07-30-2008, 09:47 PM
J. Brinkley
Addict
Rennlist Member

Buy what makes you happy, spend money on what you want.
But i believe there isn't a 915 carrera on earth with over 100k miles worth more than $15k

Thats just silly
Old 07-30-2008, 10:57 PM
Amber Gramps
Addict

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by J. Brinkley
Buy what makes you happy, spend money on what you want.
But i believe there isn't a 915 carrera on earth with over 100k miles worth more than $15k

Thats just silly
Jerry are you sure about that? I have seen very nice examples and some that yes, are rather used up, but I would so much rather have any 911 over a boxter that I can't see how they even came from the same company. A well tuned and cared for 3.2 of any year is well worth the $20K we have been paying. Some are lower, now in the $18,000 range and some clear up at $32,000. Get what you love, and what moves your soul. No point in taking just any old used boxter when nice carreras are still out there. good luck in the hunt.
Old 07-30-2008, 11:16 PM
flatsixnut
Burning Brakes

^ what he said...I will also add that there are SC's out there with over 100,000 that are worth that money and then some.