Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Swapping regular brakes for power assisted

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2008, 11:45 AM
justinsrx7
Three Wheelin'

Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Swapping regular brakes for power assisted

Although I am a relative newbie in terms of 911 ownership, I am still having some issues with brake feel. I am sure I will get used to it, but right now, the pedal feel is like pushing on concrete. Very little play, and, quite franlky, very little feedback. I sometimes feel they won't stop the car.

Has anyone replaced manual for power assisted brakes?
Old 03-08-2008, 12:03 PM
Marty916
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It may be the pads that are currently installed. I found the feel of the brakes on my '87 were also somewhat wooden so I did a pad change to a softer material and it improved the feel greatly. It's not very expensive to try and may solve your issues without a major project.
Old 03-08-2008, 01:10 PM
justinsrx7
Three Wheelin'

Originally Posted by Marty916
It may be the pads that are currently installed. I found the feel of the brakes on my '87 were also somewhat wooden so I did a pad change to a softer material and it improved the feel greatly. It's not very expensive to try and may solve your issues without a major project.
Interesting idea. What pads did you use?
Old 03-08-2008, 01:51 PM
Peter Zimmermann
Rennlist Member

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Looking at your signature line I don't know if your car is a '78 or an '86. In any case, with either year your car already has power brakes...

Lack of "feel" is often caused by one or more calipers that need to be resealed, sometimes old hoses can also be the culprit.
Old 03-08-2008, 03:02 PM
JackOlsen
Race Car

Received 62 Likes on 48 Posts

You can add the boost unit to earlier cars -- I did it with my 72. It's not a very simple thing to do, though -- there's welding involved.

As Pete mentions, your 78/86 already has the booster. Is it working?