Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Investing.

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2006, 10:55 PM
Future911
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Investing.

Hi everyone, sorry this site does'nt have a OFF TOPIC section so i needed to ask you guys a favor. Im a 30 year old business owner that does'nt know a thing about the stocks and investing in Funds, real estate, etc. So i wanted to ask people wiser than me if they could tell me some books to read to learn more about and that would inspire someone like me.

The first and only book i've read so far is Rich Dad Poor Dad, Richest man in Babylon.
I've thought of getting :Art of the Deal, and The Dummies series.

Im really sorry for having to put this here but if i get richer quicker i can buy a Porsche sooner. So i guess this does have something to do with Porsches.

Thank You Guys..
Old 11-17-2006, 11:29 PM
SeattlePorsche
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I was the same way 2 years ago. I read alot of books because I didn't want to be like my father who works very hard, but has no idea where his money goes. By far the best book I read was "The Intelligen Asset Allocator" by William Bernstein. Sidenote: I am a conservative investor and believe in logical degrees of risk with respect to age and anticipated retirement age. The book talks alot about utilizing various index funds to take advantage of low expense ratios (annual expenses) and to take advantage of diversification. It discusses risk dilution with the use of a small percantage of bonds.

More importantly, it has taught me how to come up with a plan, stick to it, and then just forget about it. I am too busy with work to worry about what stock I should buy or sell off today, and at what time. Even if you prefer a higher risk approach, it will explain it to you so you can go about it in an intelligent manner.