Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Bolt on Modifications?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2006, 01:16 AM
Eric S.
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bolt on Modifications?

I am new to 911 ownership and so far the people here have shared lots of great info- Thank you. I'm thinking about a few bolt on performance pieces. I thought I might buy an exhaust (don't know which to buy) a chip (ditto to the exhaust) and open up the air intake with a performance filter and airbox modification from Fabspeed. Would the car be obnoxious with these modifications ? What combinations work best and what can I expect for my money?
Old 04-01-2006, 02:18 AM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

Hi Eric:

The very first question I'd ask is what year your car is and how many miles are on it?

FWIW, the stock airbox and filter outperforms the aftermarket stuff on the engine dyno each & every time. Save your money for things that actually work.

Some suggestions (without knowing what car you have):

1) Suspension upgrades such as shocks, turbo-tie rods, strut brace, and perhaps larger torsion bars depending on how you will use the car and how you drive.

2) Engine performance upgrades such as a GOOD chip (Motronic-equipped engines), and a good sport muffler. Other items such as cams, larger pistons/cylinders are much more expensive.

3) Close ratio gears. Nothing makes as big a difference to acceleration (without major displacement increases) as this one. Again, not cheap but FAR more cost effective than major engine upgrades.

Good luck with your new car!!!
Old 04-01-2006, 07:53 AM
stormmaster
Instructor