Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

MSD box Instead of the CDI??

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2004, 01:44 PM
theasphaltgambler
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking MSD box Instead of the CDI??

Has anyone swapped-out their CDI box and replaced it with MSD?? I see two immediate benefits. Multiple spark for single plug set-ups in performance engines. Then adjustable RPM limiter.
Old 11-13-2004, 01:55 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

Todd:

LOL,..I've been doing this one for 30 years. Its a no-brainer on carbureted & MFI-equipped engines and of course, race motors.

A few points:

1) One must use the matching MSD coils. Impedance is critical to proper ignition performance. Bosch & other coils degrade MSD performance and in many cases, cost HP.

2) Proper installation is VERY important. MSD ignitions draw more current than other ignitions and the quality of the power feeds and grounding cannot overstressed. The vast majority of failures are due to poor grounding and power connections.
Old 11-13-2004, 02:57 PM
theasphaltgambler
Advanced

Steve, as always you da man!
Old 11-13-2004, 03:28 PM
r911
Anti-Cupholder League

Received 117 Likes on 100 Posts

Steve - Do you think there is an advantage to the MSD over a properly working stock Bosch box? If so, do you think it is the multiple sparks (which are at rel. low rpms only)?
Old 11-13-2004, 04:43 PM
theasphaltgambler
Advanced

I've used MSD boxes on other apps and they have multiple spark all the time regardless of RPM. I see on most of the installs you can pull the total timing back 2-3 degrees because the burn is more efficient.
Old 11-13-2004, 07:17 PM
r911
Anti-Cupholder League

Received 117 Likes on 100 Posts

Are you saying it can deliver multiple sparks at say 5,000 rpm???
Old 11-13-2004, 07:26 PM
RL Technical Advisor

Originally Posted by randywebb