Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

removal of rear spoiler on older 911 SC

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2024, 02:57 PM
jim_rosenthal
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default removal of rear spoiler on older 911 SC

I am buying an older 911 coupe (1982 Carrera SC), which has the rear spoiler from new. This is not a Turbo car- it is a garden variety 911. I prefer the look of this generation of 911s without the rear spoiler and would like to remove it. I did a search but did not find anything specifically on this- how to remove the spoiler, what to do about attachment holes if any, making it reversible in the event that I sell the car and the next owner wishes to reattach it. Would it be simpler just to fit a different cover to the engine area?

Thanks in advance for constructive advice. I am new to 911s and air-cooled Porsches in general.
Old 02-24-2024, 03:58 PM
Dr. 914
Premium Dealer
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 197 Likes on 141 Posts

I agree narrow bodied cars do not look good with that big turbo look spoiler installed. However if the car came with it from the factory you should leave it. On the other hand, you really cannot remove it as it will leave big holes in the deck lid. SO what I would do is remove the complete deck lid with spoiler and buy a good used no spoiler rear deck lid, paint it and install it and save the original assembly for the next buyer
Old 02-24-2024, 05:39 PM
jim_rosenthal
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by Dr. 914
I agree narrow bodied cars do not look good with that big turbo look spoiler installed. However if the car came with it from the factory you should leave it. On the other hand, you really cannot remove it as it will leave big holes in the deck lid. SO what I would do is remove the complete deck lid with spoiler and buy a good used no spoiler rear deck lid, paint it and install it and save the original assembly for the next buyer