Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Preferred Paint

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2004 | 02:18 PM
rebel911
2nd Gear

Talking Preferred Paint

Aloha Porsche Enthusiasts,

I am a newly registered member, and I am looking for some guidance. I am painting my 1981 Porsche 911SC. I have heard many stories about what paint to use, so I am confused on which to try. PPG seems to be the front runner. I am doing a base coat/clear coat. The car is primed and blocked out, I am ready to spray color (guards red if you must know). Any advise on PPG or other paints that I should consider would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Rebel911

Old 06-14-2004 | 02:28 PM
kdriscoll
2nd Gear

I used diamont. Very good paint. I have been spraying paint for many years and I have found diamont and du-pont to be very good stuff.
Old 06-14-2004 | 03:32 PM
Juan Lopez
Addict
Rennlist Member

Glasurit, its good enough for the factory.....
Old 06-15-2004 | 12:08 AM
Robert Collins - 96 993TT
Addict
Rennlist Member

Juan,
That is one good looking front yard in your avatar. You take lawn art to the next level!!

Rebel 911, you may also want to post this question on the 993 board and the 964 board, just so you can have multiple opinions. The more total opinions you get, the better off you'll be making a decision.

Good luck, and Rat-a-tat-tat!!

Robert
Old 06-16-2004 | 12:49 PM
Juan Lopez
Addict
Rennlist Member

I love my landscaping!!!!!!!!!
Old 06-17-2004 | 04:49 AM
kyle robert moore
Instructor

rebel,

my sc is in for paint and its being painted with dupont. the paint shop swears by this paint. he explaiuns that with dupont he doesnt need to use thinner for the clear coat, giving it a deeper shine......he went deeper into it than i could follow, but dupont base and clear will be on my car.

kyle
Old 06-17-2004 | 03:27 PM
rebel911
2nd Gear