Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

My First Concourse

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2004, 11:54 PM
OneNineElevenGuy
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default My First Concourse

I am entering my 1982 911SC in my first Concourse de Elegance. This is a local show that benefits C.P., and is a "wheel up" event. Meaning, the chassis and underside are not judged.

Are there any tips one could pass on to a brother to help me out with this?

I know a good wash and a mirror shine, clean windows, and carpet are a must. Some dash detailing is important too. Anything else?

Old 05-17-2004, 10:40 AM
2002M3Drew
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Funny you should ask! I just got a tip from the PO who knew several active concours people with 911's, and they said the secret to making the Fuchs rims look good (and original) is plain old petroleum jelly (Vasoline). I posted another thread on "how to clean the Fuchs" as I am new to Porsche, and this is where the thread headed as well.

As far as waxing, especially on a white car, I'd go with a good clay bar treatment to begin with...it works wonders and makes polishing and waxing very easy. The clay bar process itself only takes 30 minutes...maybe less.

Then I'd apply a coast of Meguires Mirror Glaze #7, and then a coat of Zymol Creme, P21S, or the like.

For tires I like the gel you apply...not sprays. The sprays inevitably get on the paint and windows, forcing you to back-track.

Good luck!
Old 05-17-2004, 03:43 PM
Jay H
Drifting

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Here are a few tips that I've learned over the years (I'm a concours judge in our local region and have spent a small amount of time training with PCA National judges):

Depending on how in depth your show will go will determine how picky you have to be...

Rule #1: Throw out your Armor All and buy a specific vinyl treatment like Vinylex or other non silicone dressing. Judges hate greasy trim and interiors...

Exterior