Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

911 SC Road Trip Advice

Old 02-19-2018, 09:53 PM
bw1999
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 911 SC Road Trip Advice

I am close to purchasing a 1982 911 SC with 68k miles and some maintenance history in LA, and thinking about driving it back to Ohio. Here are my questions, assuming the PPI checks out:
1) Is this a stupid idea? I have some wrenching experience and this isn't my first 911 but I am less experienced on the air cooled ones.
2) Does anyone have a link to the 911 SC repair manual, or good book recommendations.
3) Can you give me list of tools and spares that would be good to have. I have a pretty full set of tools for the 996TT. For spares, would be great to provide parts numbers.

Thanks so much!
Old 02-19-2018, 10:51 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,010 Likes on 718 Posts

Actually not much goes wrong with an sc.
no problematic relays or sensors
If it checks out just drive it
Old 02-19-2018, 11:34 PM
bw1999
Instructor

Thanks! Hope this works out
Old 02-20-2018, 12:03 AM
theiceman
Team Owner

Depends on quality of ppi.
Make sure they check for broken studs
Old 02-20-2018, 01:03 AM
Mark Salvetti
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 183 Likes on 144 Posts

You still will want to carry some spares and tools. Does the car come with its jack, air compressor for the inflatable spare, and tool kit? You'll want to be able to change a flat. I would probably bring a tire plug tool rather than rely on the inflatable spare for any length of time. Make sure the tires are not aged out. I would also bring a spare fan belt (there may be one in the tool kit), and know how to change it. You will need a special tool that is in the tool kit.