Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

718 Cayman Seatbelt Rewebbing

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2022 | 12:14 PM
StormRune
Rennlist Member

Default 718 Cayman Seatbelt Rewebbing

This post is going to walk though how I changed the seatbelt webbing in my GT4 to a color that closely matches my Shark Blue paint. I made an ordering mistake and got Miami Blue belts since Shark Blue wasn't available at the time and the result was a bad clash. Doh. The factory Shark Blue parts number still doesn't show up anywhere so I decided not to wait and to save several hundred dollars and just get them rewebbed. When it becomes available, the factory Shark Blue belt assembly number should be this according to my local Porsche parts guy: 981-803-033-03-d5c

PLEASE READ ALL of the first two posts here first before doing anything to make sure you have the right tools on hand and fully understand where this is going.

DISCLAIMER: I am NOT a professional mechanic and given that seatbelts are an important safety item, I want it to be clear that this is how I chose to change my own seatbelts. For maximum safety you should have this done by a professional mechanic. Proceed at your own risk.

Let me start with the bottom line: In this procedure you remove the entire seatbelt assembly, send it to a rewebbing service, and then install the rewebbed assembly back into the car. Most of the work is just removing trim to get to the seatbelt reel assembly. It looks like this once removed:

STEP 1
Move the seats all of the way forward to ease access to the belts area and open both side doors. This allows both door windows to index downward before the car loses power. Failing to do so could leave the window glass fully up and could break something when opening or closing the doors once the power is off. You can also just open the windows fully first, but since the car will sit for several days while the belts are rewebbed you'll get less dust in the car with them mostly closed.

STEP 2