Sponsored by:

718 Cayman GTS 1 Year Review & Tarmac Rally Car

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2020, 08:56 PM
donR
Pro

Received 202 Likes on 120 Posts
Default 718 Cayman GTS 1 Year Review & Tarmac Rally Car

Posted this over at 718 Forum but thought I'd list here as well for those thinking about purchasing the 2.5T GTS.

Lots of photos and some in-car videos in the next post if you don't want to read but just want to look!

I’ve had my 718 Cayman GTS 2.5T for 1 year now from new and just over 7,000 miles of mainly freeway and alpine driving. I don’t really use it as a daily but this car is a great daily if you need it. I bought this car for its mid-engine balance and aesthetics and to drive alpine style roads whilst feeling safe near the limit. I think the 718 is a perfect size and great for that purpose. I am an average driver so I appreciate all the technological aids but you rarely need them with this car as it is so stable and easy to drive, once you get your braking and turn in sorted!

My upgrades include:

20” HRE R101 LW forged wheels with custom offsets and larger 295 rear and 245 front Cup 2 tires. 1.4° front, 1.8° rear camber. Girodisc front and rear rotors for weight saving.

For those of you interested here is my review. My car includes PASM-S and PDK. So far the car has functioned flawlessly bar a trunk rattle which was sorted under warranty.

Sport+ in dry weather makes a big difference in terms of performance. Gear changes and acceleration is fast and responsive all the way to the redline. The OEM PASM in sport+ adapts nicely to tight winding roads and is near perfect on smoother winding roads with little or no body roll. Also works well on bumpy roads and does not really get unsettled at lower speeds but it will be interesting to try with DSC. I will also probably get Tractive RT coil overs.